Do you have the travel bug in you?

Everyone these days talk about the travel bug. Or maybe I hear it more because it’s in my head. I didn’t know about this bug until a few years ago. Or at least wasn’t conscious about it. I have always wanted to travel. Ever since I remember.  See the world, talk in different languages, eat all types of food, meet people from other countries. I think i got that from my father. And was lucky to go a few places when I was a kid. But growing up in Sri Lanka, backpacking around Europe was not a thing. I never have heard about it in my late teens. Internet wasn’t that big 10 years ago in Sri Lanka.

The biggest exposure and influence I had was discovery channel and its three travel shows. Lonely Planet, Travellers and Intimate Escapes. I was addicted.I dreamt about doing what they do. Grown up, and travelling the world for a living. A new place every time. Fancy hotels, or not. Fancy meals, or not. But I didn’t know how to make it happen.

Then life got in the way.

As a student in Sri Lanka you will never be able to make enough money to travel. (ok maybe never say never) We didn’t have part time jobs, if we did have any job at all that would have been barely enough to travel from home to school let alone to a different country. So there goes the early 20s as well. Moving to a western country, even though was a big step in itself, definitely opened up a lot of possibilities. Everyone you worked with from school kids to proper adults have been to Europe, going to Europe or planning their future trip to Europe. It was a thing. Backpacking around the world was a thing. They have around the world tickets!

This brought back the bug in me. I can actually do this now. But then came the phase of ‘oh I don’t have the money’, ‘oh but I need to save for next years semester fees’ and so on.

It took loosing a job, a declining savings account and a best friend who was ready to do anything to jump into action. And so finally I went to Europe. It was one of the best decisions I made in my very confused life time.

Getting back home I hardly had any money. As a graduate it took the next few years to build things back.Now with my husband we have done our second trip to Europe. We may have started late, but like the wise man once said, its never too late. 🙂

The world is waiting for us to come see it.

The world is waiting...
The world is waiting…

p.s – I have about 2,000 photos in my library waiting to be sorted out so I apologise for the next few weeks when I start the photo overload. Or maybe not! 😉

7 thoughts on “Do you have the travel bug in you?

  1. the world is waiting for us to come see it.. lines dripping with truth!! world has beauty for those who want to see it!! I am saving for trips that I have no idea when i will take!! thanks for sharing 🙂

Say something... :)

