oh little town, why you so lonely?

It’s been awhile, but what to do? sometimes technology fails a little bit more than I would like! Now to continue with my italian journey…

We went medieval town hopping!

I always wanted to and I was told this is the best way to get a feel of the true Italian country side. Who wants to say no? We started off at a little town called Posticciola near Lake Turano. I don’t think I have the right words to describe the architecture of exposed bricks, rubble and masonry and decades or maybe centuries old timber works of the place. It really was like walking through a history lesson. But at the same time you can’t help that feeling of absolute loneliness standing in the middle of empty streets and narrow pathways. I didn’t see anybody the whole time I was there. Later I got to know that most owners abandon their houses in most of these tiny medieval towns because it’s just too hard living there. It’s too far from the city centre and when tourism is at a low they have no income. Such a pity. But of course that didn’t stop us from wandering through the town on its’ tiny (when I say tiny I really mean tiny) pathways in awe. Sometimes I felt like I was trespassing, but of course I wasn’t. 🙂

  

Next big stop was Casperia. This is located in the town of Poggio Mirtetto and the historic centre of Casperia is walled and traffic free and has spectacular views of the local town on one side and the surrounding hills and mountains on the other. This of course was different to Postcciola mainly because it was part of a town and was more alive with people, charming little shops, bars and restaurants. Again the historic walled city was a delight to walk through climbing several steps up and several steps down. Good exercise i must say. 🙂 We ended the day on a lovely open terrace overlooking the local town, watching the beautiful sunset.

  

  

34 thoughts on “oh little town, why you so lonely?

  1. Beautiful photos! I love the buildings and their own character. I especially love the black and white photos. Speaks to you with subtlety!

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

  2. Hi Mekala, your pictures are truly breath taking! You should be shooting travelogues professionally for magazines. 😀

Say something... :)

